Sermons / AudioWhat is Reformed?Events / OutreachAbout CornerstoneContact Us

Listen to the White Horse Inn

Listen to the White Horse Inn on 930 CJCA AM radio each Sunday at 8:30 a.m. or listen online

Reformed Confessions

The Three Forms of Unity

The Three Forms of Unity are a summary of what we believe, and are based wholly on the Bible. These confessions are common among Reformed churches with origins in the European continent.

Belgic Confession

The first of the doctrinal standards of the Reformed Churches is the Confession of Faith. It is usually called the Belgic Confession because it originated in the Southern Netherlands, now known as Belgium. Its chief author was Guido de Brès, a preacher of the Reformed Churches of the Netherlands, who died a martyr to the faith in the year 1567. It's primary purpose at the time was to protest against the cruel oppression by the Roman Catholic government, and to prove to the persecuters that the adherents of the Reformed faith were not rebels, but law-abiding citizens.

Heidelberg Catechism

Written in Heidelberg by two Germon theologians, Zacharius Ursinus and Caspar Olevianus, at the request of Elector Frederick III, it was adopted by the Synod of Heidelberg in 1563. It consists of a number of questions and answers, and is organised into 52 Lord's Days, allowing the minister to preach on one each Sunday of the year.

Canons of Dort

Also known as the Five Articles against the Remonstrants, the Canons of Dort were adopted at the Synod of Dort in 1618–1619, and are statements of doctrine written to define the Reformed doctrine and reject that of Arminius and his followers.

Other Reformed Confessions

Westminster Standards

The Westminster Standards have a similarly common use among Reformed churches (known commonly as the Presbyterian churches) with origins in the British Isles.